Consumerism Talk

Although I couldn’t attend the consumerism talk by the visiting lecturer I felt that the follow up talk after was beneficial in consolidating and highlighting certain issues that had been talked about. One of the major points talked about was the fact that as students of a Graphic Design degree we are undoubtedly going to be entering in to a field of work that is plagued by consumerism and it is important that we go in educated about the subject and with somewhat of an open mind but at the same time still having an opinion on it.

Think that the most surprising thing to me was that I didn’t realise how much of a consumer I really am and how susceptible to advertising I find myself. I probably am one of the people that would go out and buy something “just because” and not necessarily because I needed it for purpose. I do think however that I am becoming less susceptible to it the more I become educated about it because I quite often find myself questioning the need for something and asking whether it is just a want because of an advert I have seen from it.

Another thing that I am going to take more of an afford to consider is where I actually spend my money in future and if the companies that I invest in have ethical values etc. Companies such as Primark are playing up to consumerism in the fact that they provide cheap merchandise in the styles that other companies create but at a higher price point. They are ultimately playing up to the fact that they sell cheap clothes that the majority of us can afford in a time where people only have very small amounts of disposable income. Although they do help us as consumers of the high street they don’t necessarily give back dividends to the people that actually manufacture their clothes in foreign sweat shops and I think this is a major issue of consumerism. This is why I want to start to become more aware of where spend my money so that I start to become less of a consumer in things that are not necessarily ethical.

I think the main thing that needs to be realised is that the type of career I am most likely going to be entering into is one that will contain a lot of element of consumerism and it will be difficult to escape. However I do feel equipped to the point that I have a view and standpoint on the issue and Im somewhat educated about the factors that need to be considered.

One thought on “Consumerism Talk

  1. Hello, I have read your post. Indeed, I think this is sometimes out of our hands to understand how lucky we are, if we can say so. We often talk about consumerism in the sense of what we buy physically but not really in terms of what we consume in term of water.

    I have done an article on water scarcity and the conflict it could engage over the next decade, and I must say, I have been astonished by the amount a Western person consumes each year!

    There is a water consumption calculator at the bottom of the page.
    https://impossibleisnotfrench.wordpress.com

    I’d like to have your thoughts about it!

    Thanks,

    Mathilde

Leave a Reply

