Guggenheim Museum New York

On my recent trip to the Big Apple with my university class we visited the Guggenheim Museum. The first thing that struck me about this museum was how unusual the shape of the building is. It really catches your attention as you walk up the sidewalks of new york because its white circular design contrasts with the concrete tower blocks that are next to it. It is something that you really can’t miss and I found myself wondering what was going to await me inside.

P1000374

Once inside it really is a bit of a tardis, It is a lot more spacious that what you imagine it would be from the outside and what surprised me was that the circular design of the outside was reflected in the inside. You immediately find yourself looking upwards to the ceiling as your eyes are drawn around the room in circles to view a really pretty and striking roof.

P1000376

I was lucky that day that the sun was shining and I was able to capture the true beauty and detail of the roof as well as capturing the shadows and highlights that are created by the buildings very interesting layout and design.

At the time of my visit the Exhibition On Kawara- Silence was being shown, an exhibition that documents how On Kawara was fascinated with the passing of time and how he chose to document this in many different ways. The museum itself really helps to document this, due to the slope that swirls around and around the inside of the building you yourself as a viewer feel a passing of time like the hands on a clock.

On Kawara- Silence

I really enjoyed seeing this set of work, Kawara had managed to devise a consistent method that allowed him to document daily what he was doing or where he was just by the use of paintings, newspapers and postcards. He has formed him self a catalogue of artworks that are organised mainly by date but a lot of the time by other factors as well such as typography and colour. The whole exhibition has really helped to give me ideas for the semester 2 studio breif on cataloguing as I believe I can take a lot of inspiration from the way Kawara documented, analysed and  catalogued his day to day life.

His “Today Series” painting especially stick out to me as pieces of inspiration because of the way they are constructed and composed. The typography is changed from painting to painting depending on where Kawara was at the time, the typography that is chosen for each place is really significant because it communicates a real sense of a change of place.

On Kawara is someone who I’m going to further research in relation to my catalogue brief because he himself has effectively catalogued his own life via different methods and us now as viewers have a catalogue of the different people he met, different places he visited etc.

Leave a Reply

