Instruction Manual

For the back of my invite I have intended to have instructions for the recipient of how they use the paper building parts to construct their own miniature Design Museum. This has proved to be somewhat of  tricky idea because of the complexity of the making of the paper model.

Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 11.24.48Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 20.37.32

I have originally had a list of instructions on how they construct it using different coloured and numbered tabs. This had seemed like a good idea and one that was easy to follow, however when asking people if they understood the instructions many had said no and that they were confusing and hard to follow. I think this was because I was forgetting that I was the one that had designed the paper building and knew myself how it went together. After thinking and trying to word my instructions differently I have decided that drawing a diagram would be a lot easier to follow. Many artists and designers are visual people and this is the intended audience for my invite so I think drawing a diagram would be a lot more successful.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 21.31.21 Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 09.32.37

So much happier with the diagram version for the instructions. They are visually a lot more appealing and I think they make a lot more sense and are easier to follow. Have asked various people and they say that they are a lot easier to understand and they feel confident in the fact that they would be able to construct the building themselves so I am going to stick with the diagram and move forward with this idea.

Leave a Reply

