Initial Invite Ideas for the new Design Museum

My initial ideas when researching the new Design Museum building and looking at the design museums own tumblr account are that the building is one of the main focal points for the move and I think this is because of the structure and its unusual shape. This is something that I really want to promote by my invite especially as my research has lead me to understand that the Design Museum has has various interesting locations such as the boiler house in the Victoria & Albert and the Banana Warehouse and it is now set to move to even more of an iconic building and location.

Due to the fact that the invite brief states that the card must be interactive or 3 dimensional I have been experimenting with the idea of creating a minature building out of paper. This has proved to be extremely tricky due to its shape and has taken a lot of trial and error to get this right. A lot of the finished pieces were misshapen or the roof extensions weren’t the correct height or shape.

IMG_3968 IMG_3970 IMG_3971 IMG_3973

All these trial and errors have allowed me to get the correct shapes and dimensions to create a net of the building using graph paper and then convert this into illustrator so that I have a digital version.

Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 10.23.20

Think this will work really well however I am conscious of the fact that the net design has to be perfect in order for it to not only look sophisticated but for it to fit together correctly.

Leave a Reply

