Applying Colour to my Invite

After researching the Commonwealth Building I found out that it was built in the 60’s and this has majorly influence my ideas for colour and pattern. Feel that it would be a nice idea to incorporate some element of 60’s graphic design in to the layout and colours of the invite.

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 16.01.54

This i just a pattern that I have made myself on illustrator using a vector. Think it works well because it is subtle enough that you can see it but at the same time it doesn’t distract from the typography or legibility of the text. I do however feel that I want the pattern to have more of a contextual reference and I feel that this would be best done by using a pattern or design from an actual artist or designer.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 20.39.39

For this I have used Andy Warhol’s banana and made this into a pattern. Feel like this works a lot better because the pattern now has a contextual reference. One issue with this is that the banana references the old building and my aim is to promote the new building and I think by using the banana pattern it looks back rather than forward.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 17.57.13 Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 18.05.27

These patterns I feel are much more applicable, they are by Lucienne Day and this in itself is contextually applicable to the brief because she has connections to the design museum. Really like the second one however because of the geometric pattern, the triangles remind me of the shapes the Commonwealth Building roof. The colours are also bright and remind me somewhat of the sun and representing a new beginning.

Leave a Reply

