Guide Book Inner Pages Layouts

Felt like the best way to tackle the layout of the inner pages of the booklet was to draw several possible layouts both ones that I have thought of and ones using inspiration from designs I have researched.This has helped me to get an idea of the range of different layouts I could possibly use. One thing I have realised that is important when designing something like a booklet is consistency, this adds to the overall readability and understanding of the information within the booklet and I feel that this is something I need to take in to account when designing my pages. So I have decided that I will most likely select two styles of page layout, one for double page spreads and another for single pages and these together will form my booklet pages.

IMG_3933

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 14.59.18 Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 14.45.22

Feel like these two above page layouts would ideally be good partners for each other because they both have some of the same qualities such as full bleed photos and 3 columns to a page. One issue with these layout is that the single columns do not leave enough room for type. The typeface has to be in really small size for there to be enough words to a line making for the information to be difficult to read and I feel that this could be a problem for the guide book if i was to use this layout. This could be addressed by having less columns to a page allowing for more lines to a column and better readability and legibility of the information.

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 13.35.28 Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 13.32.21 Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 13.17.15

I feel like these above layouts work a lot better than then previous. The 2 column grid allows for more words to a line even in a bigger point size of type adding to the readability of the information. There is also a information hierarchy apparent by the use of varying sizes of type and boldness of type.

Although I am happy with these layout I am going to continue to develop the inner page layouts and start to see what they look like with imagery and colour to get more of an idea of how the layouts could work within the context of an information booklet. I also want to change the format and experiment using A Sizes as I feel that the information can look fairly bunched up and condensed when using a square format.

Leave a Reply

