Broadsheet Design

After the workshop with Andrew working with layouts for the broadsheet I wanted to try to recreate my successful layout that was cascading on the Mac using InDesign and then start to apply other design variables such as colour, image etc.

IMG_3827

By using placeholder text and inserting images that i gathered from the internet as a resource I was able to recreate the layout. Feel that this layout is really sucessfull in the fact that it is dynamic and interesting to look at. A lot of my previous layouts were very busy and jam packed with information that they had started to become very complicated to read and digest whereas this one has slightly more white space and is clearly grouped in to sections.

From research I found that colour is a variable that is quite often used to separate out different areas which Is why I have chosen to use colours for different parts of the museum quarter. I also feel like this way colour can play a part in the poster design as well aiding to the idea of a series. The colours can also easily be placed on the map as a map key to aid the user in being guided around the quarter.

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 09.19.30Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 09.21.29

Decided to use strokes at the top of every institutions information because I feel that it gives the information to hand off of. Because of the cascading design it could potentially become unclear as to where the informations starts and ends but because the stroke aids in indicating the starting point. Originally I was going to go with the think stroke and a circle but i think reversing out the circle works better because I can then use a circle on the map and I will look like it has almost been whole punched.

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 12.18.05 Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 10.35.19 Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 10.32.59

In keeping with the idea of colour I have accented important information in the appropriate colour. I feel that this effectively highlights the points of interest that the viewer is most likely going to want to read first swell as accentuating these points enough. I have also the used thinner strokes to separate information within the same block of text, this stops the design from becoming too complicated by creating a sort of box for the text to sit in.

Although I am happy with the design so far there is still parts that need tweaking such as aligning everything to the base line grid so that there is equal spacing and the text runs across the page appropriately. The broadsheet is swell still quite top heavy and needs spacing out a bit better towards the bottom of the page. Also need to work on the map, the one I have chose is for illustration purposes but I will need to draw my own in order for it to be more appropriate to the rest of the design.

Designing a lot of the broad sheet first has also given me design factors that I can take forward and consider when designing the poster for the reverse side and I feel like I now have a clearer starting point to take the poster forward.

Leave a Reply

